Speaker's Mesage

  • Hon.Kiwuka Susan

    Deputy Speaker

    The Local Government Act provides that there shall be a Speaker and Deputy Speaker of a Municipal Council, who are elected by Members of the council from among their number.

    The Speaker Heads the Council and is deputized by the Deputy Speaker.

    The Speaker chairs all sittings of the council and ensures that debates are handled in accordance with the Rules of Procedure.

    The deputy speaker performs/assumes the roles of the speaker when the speaker is absent

    Hon. Nakigudde Hamiyat is the Speaker of Mukono Municipal Council, and is deputized by Hon. Kiwuka Susan Sylvia

    Mukono Municipal Council consists of 26 elected Honorable Councilors from among the 79 Villages and 9 Wards that constitute the municipality, bringing to a total of 27 elected leaders including the Mayor.


    The Council consists of the following committees

    1. Executive

    2. Finance And Planning

    3. Works

    4. Gender & Community based services

    5. Social Services

    Below is a list of councilors/leaders as allocated to the above committees